I’m Back!

Hey y’all.  I’m back!

It’s been almost a year since my last post. I can’t believe it! I had to take a break as my anxiety and depression were not well managed and I was downward spiraling something fierce. But I’ve made significant adjustments to my treatment plan and my anxiety is about 85% under control. We’re still working on my depression. That’s more stubborn.

Over the past year I’ve made a lot of progress and experienced significant growth. I’ve become far more accepting of myself. I am not built for a 50-60 hour work week for starters. It’s nearly impossible to get well in this kind of environment. Although doing work that doesn’t go against my values is better than doing work that is in constant conflict with them, I know that I went to law school for a reason and I want to do work that aligns with my values. So as a fourth year associate, I’m planning my exit.

I have had a wonderful experience here at my second firm. I work with great people.  I enjoy a lot of the work and I’ve learned a ton. But I want to do more. My work takes from me, but it never gives back. It isn’t fulfilling. I have come across some slightly non-traditional positions that I think would align far better with my strengths and interests and have started sending out applications. Fear not: my JD will not go to waste. The work will still involve engaging with the law. Cross your fingers for me!

Now that I’m feeling better, I’ve decided to restart the blog because writing is a significant outlet for me and quite frankly I love it.  Even if no one reads it (but hopefully, someone will) it’s good therapy. 🙂

One thought on “I’m Back!

Leave a Reply

